Sarojini Naidu

Today I will post a poem written by Sarojini Naidu. This poem may be considered erotic or sexy or whatever language (or idiom) that one may use to describe sensousness of a woman.

I was first introduced to Sarojini Naidu’s work in an indirect manner. At one time, long ago, I was reading about Indonesian Revolution. And so I got to know about the Asian Relations Conference in 1947, which was attended by some of notable figures of the new Indonesian “revolutionary” leadership.

At that time Sarojini Naidu was frail and sick, but she managed to preside over that conference. At that time she was also the governor of the Uttar Pradesh state in India. She eventually died in 1949.

There are many things that I would like to write about her… but I suppose that may happen when and if the time is right.

But for now enjoy that poem in….. the next entry…..

About this entry