Aversion to Sweat and the Environment (1)

In relation to such a problem, I would like to make a broader generalization.

Many of us are averse to experiencing heavy bouts of sweat. And many are averse to seeing people who sweat a lot.

I still remember; it was a time after some big exams or something and obviously students have a lot of free time. So, during those free times in school, I played badminton. Some how, I was called up to the teachers’ room. I don’t know why and I can’t remember why. I can only remember one thing.

The teacher who called me complained that I was sweating so much. At that time I would like to tell her – “So what? Don’t you know that it is 30 Celsius outside?” But then out of courtesy, I did not say a word.

And then another teacher said that I should not be here since I am “dirty”. I think he used the word “kotor” to describe me. And guess what, two other teachers laughed as if they were teasing me. As a teen-ager, I felt rather shameful, especially when teachers say things that were “hurtful” and they say them in front of other fellow teachers. I felt that I was looked down upon. I expect that teachers should dignified, after all such dignity is the main pillar of the teaching profession. And we all know this from countless celebration of Hari Guru.

I was also feeling angry. Nevertheless, when I was going out, the sports teacher stopped me. She offered me her towel. “Wipe your sweat with this towel” she said. And then she reminded me… “Hey, don’t forget to give me back my towel”. Any way, she was the only teacher who tried to console me that day. She must have seen that I looked angry, so she offered to see me outside: She told me not to take seriously what the other teachers have said. And she told me to be brave, as in life everyone will experience uncomfortable situations especially when people make remarks about how much you sweat etc. And more importantly she told me that teachers are just humans, so one must not put them in such a high pedestal.

And so that was the story….

This story has many morals. But for now I would use this story to illustrate that: Many of us are averse to experiencing heavy bouts of sweat. And many are averse to seeing people who sweat a lot.

About this entry