A Further Clarification

I have said in this previous entry:

I also get sick and tired reading these blogs, as I believe that these websites and blogs just don’t understand about the situation, and I say this even to those bloggers and website writers who are residing in Malaysia. Perhaps some may say that this remark is odd. But, I am making this remark as a person who has read a lot about Malaysian contemporary history and I am quite well versed in the ‘academic’ aspects of Malaysian society, politics and government.

I think I will clarify this statement further- especially the portions in the bold.

The first issue, I will not deal too much upon. I understand that history need not be factual. History can be a means to promote certain agenda etc, etc. So when one says that he reads a lot about Malaysian contemporary history, we might want to ask, what are the things that he has read. The subject of Malaysian history has been widely written from many perspectives (factual and otherwise). So what are the factual perspectives. There are many actually, and I would only mention two: These two publications can be said to be factual i.e. written or compiled by ‘uninterested’ authors or editors. The first is the British Documents on the End of Empire Series B Volume 3. This three part volume deals with the events surrounding the creation of the independent Federation of Malaya. The second is the British Documents on the End of Empire Series B Volume 8. This volume deals with Malaysia. I would say that these sources are one the best factual sources of references for interested readers on Malayan and Malaysian history.

The second issue: quite well versed in the ‘academic’ aspects of Malaysian society, politics and government, is clarified next.

In doing so, I will bring about a term – malaysianists. A malaysianist is someone who is interested in Malaysia but is not a Malaysian.

Since this explanation is somewhat off the topic of this entry, I have written a separate entry here.

About this entry