Hegemony of the “Fair Skin – European Looks” Beauty Concept I

This is one example of the many legacies of colonialism. [See the post – The Enduring Legacies of Colonialism for background info]

One of the issues that surround the concept of beauty is the color of the skin. I will tell you that there are many people out there who think that white skinned people are more beautiful than black or darker skinned people.

Another issue is the so called Caucasian or European look. Again, I will tell you that there are many people out there who will equate the Caucasian or European physique/features as the ‘international look’. If you have Caucasian or European features, then you are said to have the global, cosmopolitan and international look. If not then you are said to be provincial.

Don’t you believe me?

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us
Picture Credits: Shah Rukh Khan – from www.bollywood4u.com

If my memory is correct, he promoted some kind of product which created an uproar in India.

I wonder… What was it???

See also:
Hegemony of the “Fair Skin – European Looks” Beauty Concept II
Hegemony of the “Fair Skin – European Looks” Beauty Concept III

About this entry