Merah-Putih & Keris: Demokrasi Bikinan Melayu?

Dear Readers

It was not so long ago that I remember read a Malay newspaper headline – UMNO akan memerintah Malaysia selama-lamanya (I can’t recall exactly the headline and when it was published – so I apologize) and it was not so long ago that I read a kempen pembangkang sifar was launched to “wipe out” the remaining opposition seats in the Parliament. Unfortunately those statements are dubious at best. Political organizations however efficient and effective, only have a finite life time holding governmental power. This is a truism. If they don’t believe me; that’s fine. Just look at the Koumintang and the Kommunisticheskaya Partiya Sovetskogo Soyuza].

And so is the case of UMNO.

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Source: UMNO’s flag@ Wikipedia

Will UMNO still rule Malaysia?

I wonder what will be the alternative to UMNO and the BN system of governance? What kind of democracy shall Malaysia have if one day, UMNO and BN will bow out of public office.

That day will surely come. It is only a question of time.

But when?

I wonder…

 


About this entry