Attitudes Not Helpful if You Are in a Tropical Country

Last time when I was in school, I heard my teacher shouting my name calling me. She was in the class (quite far but till in sight), and I was just outside playing badminton with a friend. So I dropped everything and went in the class…

Upon seeing me, my teacher then exclaimed: … Ohh…. Look at you… so sweaty, smelly and filthy…!!!

Well… this reminds me of our attitude of disliking sweat, body odour etc. I find this attitude not helpful especially in the context of us being in a tropical and humid country… and on top of that in a situation of high oil prices…this attitude may hinder other options on the mode of transportation.

Mmmm….

How many of you still remember Simran…. She used to act in a lot films, and after that all was quiet about her… Nowadays she is still active. In 2006 she was promoting the Rexona deodorant.

Refer to this site: Hindu Imageshttp://www.thehinduimages.com/hindu/photoDetail.do?photoId=7862372

Look at picture – in that page, specifically at the board in which Simran was signing her name… I mean look at the wordings..

We pledge to make our city Body Odour free

According that news article:

Actress Simran kickstarts the signature campaign in Hyderabad on May 22, 2006 for brand Rexona, which is conducting a nation wide no body odour movement. According to the company, the product will reach 1.5 million youths across seven cities of the country through 1000 colleges, IT and BPO companies.

Source: The Hindu Images

Ha ha… can you believe it…. I suppose in India there is a potentially huge market for deoderants. By the way I wonder how many in India would buy Rexona?

Mmmm I suppose people don’t like to sweat or perspire as this will make their bodies smelly…


Picture Credits Simran @ Ragalahari

Ahhh… look at her.. Simran.. still beautiful eh….

Unfortunately this kind of attitude is not helpful during times like these…

If you want to use public transport… you might have to wait under the hot sun…. even if there is shade it is still hot and humid… And you will sweat… that’s for sure…

I wonder if Simran regularly uses public transportation…


Picture Credits Simran @ Ragalahari

Anyway… that is for her to decide… after all she has other alternative transportations… I am sure of that…


Picture Credits Simran @ Ragalahari

Aha… look at her….


Picture Credits Simran @ Ragalahari

In another dress obviously…

On a note… perhaps the drive towards other means of transportation besides the automobile will benefit deodorant producers…

I suppose people would use more deodorant in consideration of the hot weather and that now many have to use the often inefficient public transportation system…

But I suppose buying deodorant and other fragrant based or body hygiene products is a lot cheaper than the cost of operating a private automobile when the price of petrol hits the roof…

Hey.. but what the opportunity costs of using deodorants… and the opportunity costs of using the inefficient public transportation system…

Or perhaps we are so brainwashed by the media that we always have to smell good all the time……

Ha ha ha….

 
_______________________________________________________________________________
All Picture Credits to Ragalahari

 

 

About this entry